Election Night 2018 Historic for LGBTQ+ Candidates

A week after the midterm election, Kyrsten Sinema was declared the winner of the Arizona Senate election, making her the first openly bisexual person elected to Congress and Arizona’s first female Senator. After Tuesday’s election, the total number of LGBTQ+ members of Congress is now eleven, the first time that the number has reached double digits. Kyrsten Sinema is now the second LGBTQ+ U.S. Senator. Tammy Baldwin, a Senator from Wisconsin, was the first openly LGBTQ+ Senator and last Tuesday she won her election for a second term as well. She tweeted Tuesday that she was “very happy to say [she is] no longer the *only* open LGBTQ U.S. Senator.” Sharice Davis and Jared Polis were also elected on the historic night for LGBTQ candidates. Sharice Davis is an openly lesbian Native American woman elected to Congress from Kansas. Davis is also one of the first Native American women elected to Congress. Jared Polis is the first openly gay governor in the United States and was elected in Colorado. Colorado was once known as the “hate state” because of a 1992 law that legalized discrimination against the LGBTQ community, but is now the first state to have an openly gay […]

Read more at: Feminist Newswire – Feminist Majority Foundation Blog

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes